Sufjan Stevens officially announces brand new album, ‘The Ascension’

American singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Sufjan Stevens has announced his new album, The Ascension. The album will be released through Asthmatic Kitty Records, which he co-founded with his stepfather Lowell Brams back in 1999. 

The album is set for release on September 25, but fans will be treated to a 12-minute lead single titled America in just two days, on July 3.

Sufjan Stevens announces new solo album The Ascension, set for release late September, with its first single America launched later this week.

Stevens’ music is known for exploring various themes including love, loss, religion, and spirituality, with his music featuring on the 2017 pop culture hit Call Me By Your Name, racking up hundreds of millions of streams on Spotify. 

Earlier this year, Stevens also released a collaborative album with his stepfather Brams, titled Aporia. Moving away from his usual sound, the mostly instrumental record was inspired by the soundtracks of movies like Blade Runner and Hereditary.

The Ascension will be comprised of 15 new songs and accompanied by a 16-page booklet of Stevens’ drawings. The album is now available for pre-order on all music streaming services here.

Have a peek at the album’s tracklist below and album artwork below.

  1. Make Me an Offer I Cannot Refuse
  2. Run Away With Me
  3. Video Game
  4. Lamentations
  5. Tell Me You Love Me
  6. Die Happy
  7. Ativan
  8. Ursa Major
  9. Landslide
  10. Gilgamesh
  11. Death Star
  12. Goodbye to All That
  13. Sugar
  14. The Ascension
  15. America

sufjan stevens, the ascension