Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross to release three Watchmen soundtracks

Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, the Oscar-winning composition duo and official members of Nine Inch Nails, have been writing music for HBO’s Watchmen series. 

The duo have just announced that they’re about to formally release the music they created for the series in three volumes. 

The first volume of the Watchmen soundtrack will come out on November 4th, and the other two will be released as the series continues, with Volume Two due out November 25th and the final instalment out December 16th.

Watchmen is a superhero drama series inspired by some characters from the DC Comics limited series of the same name, created by Dave Gibbons. Reznor and Ross planned the trilogy with the series’ writers. Each of the releases will have artwork that reflects the mythology of the show, which is based on Alan Moore and Gibbons’ Hugo Award–winning graphic novel.

In addition to Watchmen, Reznor and Ross have been working hard creating scores for a number of films, including the upcoming film Waves by filmmaker Trey Schultz, and the new Pixar film, Soul. In recent times, the pair have worked on music for Bird BoxMid90sThe Vietnam War docuseries and Patriots Day. They won the Academy Award for Best Achievement in Music Written for Motion Pictures, Original Score in 2011 for The Social Network.

In a 2016 interview, Reznor explained how his soundtrack work reinforces what he does with Nine Inch Nails.

“Working on these two films and Nine Inch Nails has provided some good checks and balances and makes them all more interesting,” he said at the time, when he was promoting the scores for Before the Flood and Patriots Day. “You can immerse yourself in a project knowing you’ll be on the other side of the spectrum next week, depending on how well you can stay sane switching between jobs. For us, it’s worked pretty good.”

The Watchmen soundtracks will be available digitally and on vinyl.