Visionary composer Vangelis to release solo piano album, featuring reworks of his most famous tracks

Blade Runner and Chariots of Fire composer Vangelis, real name Evángelos Odysséas Papathanassíou, will release a brand new solo piano album in 2019.

The news came as a complete surprise after the album was listed on Amazon and other retailers earlier this week.

vangelis solo piano album

One of the world’s foremost composers Vangelis will release an album of solo piano arrangements in 2019. Here’s what we know so far.

Vangelis is best known for his film work, having composed the Academy Award winning theme for Chariots of Fire, the cult score for Ridley Scott’s 1982 masterpiece Blade Runner, and the score for Carl Sagan’s Cosmos. He has also composed pieces for the Olympic Games in 2000 and 2004 on top of various solo recordings.

The tracklist for Nocture, posted on Amazon Germany, reveals that versions of Longing and Love Theme from Blade Runner, and the Chariots of Fire main theme will appear on the record.

Stay tuned for more information, apparently landing on December 7th.

Nocturne Tracklist

1. Nocturnal Promenade
2. To the Unknown Man
3. Mythodea – Movement 9
4. Moonlight Reflections
5. Through the Night Mist
6. Early Years
7. Love Theme (From Blade Runner)
8. Sweet Nostalgia
9. Intermezzo
10. To a Friend
11. La petite fille de la mer (From L’Apocalypse des animaux)
12. Longing (From Blade Runner)
13. Main Theme (From Chariots of Fire)
14. Unfulfilled Desire
15. Lonesome
16. Conquest of Paradise (From 1492: Conquest of Paradise)
17. Pour Melia

Via Notes From Nebula.